Help, I have the concentration level of a goldfish! Incl. tips

Hello everyone!

Like I already said in the description about myself, I’m a last year student Management. In two days I will (hopefully) have my very very very last exam in my school career. You’d think I’d be motivated to study hard, get good grades and nail it hm? Nope.

Why am I like this?!

It’s just the story of my life. I start something with all the motivation in the world to bring it to a nice ending. However, my motivation is gone as fast as it came. It’s not that I don’t wanna study or something, I just can’t stay focused. *Is that a squirrel in that tree?*

It dolijden-aan-acute-stress-of-blootgesteld-aan-een-traumatische-ervaring-stressesn’t matter where I sit, how I sit. What I study. How I study. How far away I hide my laptop and my phone. It all just doesn’t matter: I have the concentration level of a freakin’ goldfish. HELP!

Instead of studying hard for my last exam (it’s german by the way), I created this blog yesterday night. Can you believe this sh*t. And of course in English, so all the German I’ve been studying all day fades within minutes.

I know I am not the only one struggling with concentration troubles, whether it’s at work or at school. Therefore I’ve been searching for some tips and tricks to focused. Do they work? I don’t know, you tell me! 🙂

  1. Set a goal. 
    If what you’re doing isn’t fascinating or interesting you, your concentration level will be low. So think about WHY you’re doing it, what you wanna achieve by doing it. If you keep that in mind, you’ll be much more motivated and focused.
  2. Think about what you are about to do before you start.
    Sometimes it’s important to take a few minutes to think about what you are about to do and how you’re gonna do it. If you got a structure in mind, you’ll not have to interrupt yourself to ask “what is the next step?”.
  3. Take a break. 
    Maybe it seems better to spend all day behind your computer to finish your work because you have so much left to do. Nevertheless it’s better to take a break once in a while. If you know you’re going to have a break in let’s say 40 minutes, you’ll be much more motivated to finish that particular task.
  4. Isolate yourself.
    Not everyone has the luxury of having a door in their office room. Lots of people work in “work landscapes”. You can isolate yourself anyhow: just put on headphones so your co-workers can’t disturb you.
  5. Eat sufficiently. 
    Eating too much isn’t good, but you can’t work on an empty stomach either. After a heavy lunch your blood sugar is rather low, which causes a downfall of your attention. So try to spread your meals over the day instead of eating a lot during lunch break.
  6. Disconnect!
    If you don’t need the Internet to do your tasks, disconnect. Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and all other social media are the worst distraction you can have.

Do you have any tips or tricks to stay focused on studying/work? Let me know! I’m a desperate goldfish. 

XO. Michelle 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

